UCHS Board of Directors

University Christian High School is a Recognized Service Organization of the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod (LCMS).  It is governed by an association of Lutheran Churches.  The representatives of these association churches elect the UCHS Board of Directors.  Elected members of the board serve a two-year term and can serve only two terms consecutively.  A majority of the BOD members must be members of LCMS congregations.  Board members are not compensated for their time and duties.  If you wish to email the UCHS Board of Directors, you may use uchsboard@uchigh.com.

Current board members are:

Wally Zahler, Chair
Dr. Zahler is a retired teacher, principal, and central office administrator in the Catawba County School System with forty years of experience.  He brings to the UCHS Board of Directors a vast knowledge of education.  Wally is a member of Our Savior Lutheran Church in Hickory.

Linda Coffey, Vice-Chair
Mrs. Coffey is a parent of students currently at UCHS and graduates of UCHS.  She is a Vice-President of Finance at Lowe’s Companies.  She brings an accounting background as well as the parent viewpoint to the board.  Linda is a member of Concordia Lutheran Church in Conover. 

Rachel Nichols, Secretary
Mrs. Nichols is the Vice-President of Enrollment at Lenoir-Rhyne University.  She has been the LR representative to the UCHS Board of Directors since the inception of UCHS.  Rachel brings a historical viewpoint and knowledge in marketing, enrollment and finance to the BOD.  Rachel is a member of Trinity Lutheran Church in Hickory. 

Gil Brauch
Mr. Brauch is a retired military officer and has served on local and district boards of the Lutheran Church.  He brings an expertise to the UCHS Board of Directors on re-writing constitutions and bylaws.  Gil is a grandparent of a UCHS student and a member of St. Stephens Lutheran Church in Hickory.   

Michael Gerken
Mr. Gerken is a parent of a UCHS student and a Thrivent Financial Advisor.  His Thrivent office is located in Newton, NC.  He brings knowledge of accounting and financials to the board as well as a parent point of view.  Michael is a member of Concordia Lutheran Church in Conover.  

David Janisko
Mr. Janisko is a retired Lutheran School Principal with 43 years of experience in Lutheran schools in New Jersey, Florida, and North Carolina.  He received the National Distinguished Lutheran Principal Award from the Lutheran Education Association and was named a National Distinguished Principal by the National Association of Elementary School Principals in 1992.  His knowledge of Lutheran education is a great benefit to the UCHS Board of Directors.  David is now a member of St. Stephens Lutheran Church in Hickory. 

Rev. Shea Pennington, Chaplain
Pastor Shea is the Associate Pastor at St. Stephens Lutheran Church & School and the pastoral representative on the UCHS Board.  He is here to serve and support the holistic well-being of students and staff at UCHS.

William E. Unverfehrt, Principal
Mr. Unverfehrt is an ex-officio member of the UCHS Board of Directors.  Mr. Unverfehrt has 42 years of experience as a teacher and principal in Lutheran Schools.  He has been involved in the growth of three different schools and in 2015 received the National LEA Distinguished Lutheran Elementary Administrator Award.  Mr. Unverfehrt is a member of Concordia Lutheran Church in Conover.